"HISTORY OF THE KITTSON COUNTY COURTHOUSE"

An Excerpt From

# HISTORY

## THE RED RIVER VALLEY

PAST AND PRESENT

Including an Account of the Counties, Cities, Towns and Villages of the Valley from the Time of Their First Settlement and Formation

**BY VARIOUS WRITERS** 

IN TWO VOLUMES

### **VOLUME II**

### ILLUSTRATED

HERALD PRINTING COMPANY GRAND FORKS

C. F. COOPER & COMPANY CHICAGO

1909

<sup>\*</sup> The following article, written by Edward Nelson, first appeared on page 931-3 of Volume II of this history of the Red River valley. It has been reformatted. The title has been added by the MLHP.

#### The County Building.

When the first board of County Commissioners met at Hallock, on April 8, 1879, they met in a building then occupied by Hans Eustrom, the first county auditor, which building is described in a "bill of sale" as "one certain frame house located on lot 14, of block 2, in the Village of Hallock, the dimensions of which are 14 by 18 feet, one story high, and known as the house now occupied by Hallock and Swainson and formely by H. Eustrom, as county auditor's office." This bill of sale was made by Wenzel Newes to Charles Hallock, and reference to lot and block belongs to the old plat of Hallock, which was situated on the south one-half section 12-161-49, and not to the present plat on section 13. A Misc. 81.

On July 23, 1883, Robert Thompson, one of the commissioners, was authorized to rent for the term of two years, from January 1, 1884, from any private person or stock company, owning a large enough building, six rooms for the use of the county officers, at a rental not to exceed \$300.00 per annum. Previous to this, the various officers had held their offices at their homes or places of business.

Pat Carrigan, who was the treasurer, resided at Northcote, but had Mr. Harvey P. Smith, as deputy, who kept the treasurer's books, at the Bank of St Vincent. Mr. Smith was also deputy register of deeds, and kept those records in the bank. H. Eustrom, the auditor, had his office at Hallock. J. A. Vanstrum, sheriff, R. B. Hedenberg, county attorney, and W. F. McLaughlin, the clerk of court, all had their offices at St. Vincent.

Mr. L. B. Riddell, who owned the east half of section 14, of Hallock township, had erected in 1883, a large frame building two stories high, on a couple of lots in the west part of Hallock, and this building, sometimes called Riddell hail, was leased by the county, as the county building. This was occupied by the officers, and the county business transacted therein, until in 1896, when the present court house was completed, and the offices moved there. Riddell hail was afterwards purchased by Walter C. Kelso, who moved it to the northeast corner of block two, of Hallock, where it now serves as a business building. The upper story is used by the Hallock lodge of Masons, as their lodge room.

The first court was held at the Hotel Hallock, the proprietor, Mr. J. B. Peabody, having tendered to the commissioners the use of the same, gratis. On April 9, 1881, the commissioners accepted the same with thanks. However, they did not escape without pay, for on July 25, 1881, among the bills the commissioners allowed, we find that James B. Peabody was allowed "\$4.00 for the use of a jury room during the July session of the court and breaking of window lights."

In 1892, and the following years, the people of the county began to

agitate the building of a suitable court house, and as usual in new counties, this brought up the question of the location of the county seat. At the first meeting of the commissioners a motion was made that St. Vincent should be made the county seat, but this was lost and the seat of government was located at Hallock. When the question of a new building came up, the county seat question was resurrected and a bitter fight was made to have the seat of government changed to St. Vincent. However, the attempt to change was abortive and the court house was built at Hallock. The county issued its bonds for \$5,000.00, and with other additions not then contemplated, brought the cost up to about \$20,000.00.

The present county officers are: Auditor, C. J. Hemmingson, deputy auditor, J. V. Hemmingson, treasurer, Ole Myre, county attorney, R. R. Hedenberg, clerk of court, E. A. Johnson, register of deeds, Edward Nelson, deputy register of deeds, Abbie West, superintendent of schools, Blanda Sundberg, sheriff, O. J. Anderson, deputy sheriffs, Oscar Johnson and J. K. Ross, judge of probate, George Baker, coroner, Dr. A. W. Shaleen, court commissioner, A. P. Holmberg.

The county commissioners are: 1st district, A. Arvesen, chairman, 2nd district, Louis Swenson, 3rd district, Boynard Anderson, 4th district, Thomas Coleman, 5th district, Charles Clow. ■

[O]

Posted MLHP: October 15, 2010.